Tuesday, August 30, 2016

5 Things I Hate About Books as an Avid Reader

 I read books as long as I remember. I love books. And it really bothers me when I search for a certain title and more than twenty books with similar title appear. Or when I remember the cover of the book I love and suddenly see the same cover on a different book. Just because I love books, I must tell about the five things that I hate when reading a book.

  • Same (or almost same) titles

Do you know that there are more than 30 versions of the title „50 Shades of Grey“, and they are all different books? Do you know that there are more than 20 different books that include „The Girl...“ in the title? Authors, please. You are creative enough to write a story. Be creative enough to create a unique name for your baby. You don't want someone to copy your work. So why would you copy somebody else's, just because it is famous and sounds catchy? You don't want someone to buy some other book thinking it is yours, and this happens lots of times. It is not reader's fault.

Monday, August 29, 2016

Book Review: Fear Dreams by J.A.Schneider

Liddy Barron, an artist, was injured in a hit-and-run accident that left her with recurring nightmares, partial amnesia, and an increasing obsession in the disappearance of a coed named Sasha Perry. Was Sasha murdered? Insecure and nervous, Liddy's turmoil grows as she begins seeing ghostly images. Her husband Paul tries to help but suspects it's just her imagination...while intuitive Detective Kerri Blasco, also obsessed with young Sasha's disappearance, senses that Liddy may have a key to solving the case, and tries to unravel the shocking truth of what really haunts her.

Copy provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Have you ever feared your own dreams?

Liddy Barron is afraid to sleep, afraid to work, afraid to walk in the public. Ever since her car accident a couple of months ago, her life is changed. With no memory of the night of the accident, she starts to see weird things. Works as an artist and suddenly the word HELP appears on her paintings. The main problem is when she is out in public, she sees a young woman walking towards her. Nothing unusual, you'll say, but the young woman is missing! And Liddy sees some things on her that no one else knows about. Is she losing her mind or some distant memory comes out on the surface?

Do you believe in ghosts?

Sunday, August 28, 2016

Cover reveal: The Alibi by Jaime Raven

Hi, guys.
Tonight I have a pleasure to take part in the cover reveal of the second book of the criminally good Jaime Raven. You know her debut The Madam (read my review here) and I am sure you'll love the book two. 

So what’s next from Jaime? Hold tight, because it’s a good ‘un.

Publishing in eBook and Paperback: 29th December

Secrets, lies and revenge brim to the top in this gritty thriller. Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.

A perfect crime needs a perfect alibi…

Crime reporter Beth Chambers is committed to uncovering the truth – and she’s not afraid of bending the rules to get there.

When troubled soap star Megan Fuller is found stabbed to death in her South London home, all eyes are on her notorious gangster husband, Danny Shapiro. There’s just one problem: Danny has a watertight alibi.

Determined to expose Danny as a 
cold-blooded killer, Beth obsessively pursues him. But in her hunt for the truth, her family are set to pay the ultimate price

Sunday, August 21, 2016

Book Review:The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes - The Ripper Legacy by David Stuart Davies

Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson investigate the case of a kidnapped child. With no ransom note, and a sinister connection to the highest echelons of Victorian society, the companions' lives are in danger. What is the child's true heritage? And what is the connection with the vicious Whitechapel murders?

Copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

I am a very big fan of Sherlock Holmes stories and I quite enjoy the new ones that are written these days. Some of them are set in modern times, some are authentical as much as possible. Many authors try to write in Artur Conan Doyle's style, but very few can do it successfully. I think that David Stuart Davies did a really good job here, including real facts to spice up a fictional story.

Saturday, August 20, 2016

Blog Tour: The Irish Inheritance by M.J.Lee-Book Review

June 8, 1921. Ireland.
A British Officer is shot dead on a remote hillside south of Dublin.

November 22, 2015. United Kingdom.
Former police detective, Jayne Sinclair, now working as a genealogical investigator, receives a phone call from an adopted American billionaire asking her to discover the identity of his real father.

How are the two events linked?

Jayne Sinclair has only three clues to help her: a photocopied birth certificate, a stolen book and an old photograph. And it soon becomes apparent somebody else is on the trail of the mystery. A killer who will stop at nothing to prevent Jayne discovering the secret hidden in the past
The Irish Inheritance takes us through the Easter Rising of 1916 and the Irish War of Independence, combining a search for the truth of the past with all the tension of a modern-day thriller.

It is the first in a series of novels featuring Jayne Sinclair, genealogical detective.

Copy provided by Neverland Blog Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Hi, guys.

Today is my stop of the blog tour for M.J.Lee's new book. This is my third book from this author and quite different from the other two. It has mystery, it has a history in it, but also genealogy, a search for one man's ancestors. Perfect read for history lovers.

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Book Review: The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows by Marnie Riches

Europe is in the grip of an extreme Arctic blast and at the mercy of a killer, who leaves no trace. His weapons of choice are razor-sharp icicles. This is Jack Frost.

Now a fully qualified criminologist, Georgina McKenzie is called upon by the Dutch police to profile this cunning and brutal murderer. Are they looking for a hit man or a frenzied serial-killer? Could there be a link to a cold missing persons’ case that George had worked with Chief Inspector Paul van den Bergen – two abducted toddlers he could never quite give up on?

The hunt for Jack Frost sparks a dangerous, heart-rending journey through the toughest neighbourhoods in Europe, where refugees and Roma gypsies scratch a living on the edge of society. Walking into the dark, violent world of a trans-national trafficking ring, can George outrun death to shed light on two terrible mysteries?

Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Ok, I have to admit! This girl who walked in the shadows really got under my skin. This is the third book of the series and I can't get enough of them. Georgina and Paul are such a dynamic duo in private life and on the crime scene, I absolutely love them with all their ons and offs.But, let me tell you something about the story....

Saturday, August 13, 2016

Book Review: Blood Ties (Tales of the Notorious Hudson Family #4) by Julie Shaw

Family is not always a place of safety.  Kathleen was just eight years old when her mother was tragically killed in a car accident.  And when her father remarries it is to the bitter and resentful Irene who has two children of her own and no space in her heart for another.  Irene goes out of her way to make Kathleen's life as miserable as possible and will stop at nothing to get her out of their lives... When Kathleen is sixteen, a shocking incident rocks the family, and life takes a darker turn.  Among this darkness, Kathleen finds a glimmer of hope in an older man, but Irene is ruthless in her mission to destroy her.  Can Kathleen find happiness or is she destined for tragedy?

Copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

I know that this isn't a crime or thriller book as I usually read, but the story of modern Cinderella intrigued me and I decided to give it a try. Being a motherless daughter by myself , I've found some connection with the main character, but that is where the similarity ends. The plot is set in Bradford Yorkshire in the sixties of the last century and centers around one working class family. Kathleen is a young woman, girl, just turning sixteen years old, who has lost her mother as a child. Her father remarries a couple of years later, and the new stepmother has two children by herself. But this family's life is far away from a happy fairytale. The stepmother is like Cinderella's evil stepmother, and her children act just like Cinderella's stepsisters. Kathleen works part-time in her father's pub and there she meets a man. A regular customer, a young widower who has lost his wife too early in life. The pain from the loss connects these two people., but they have to fight for their love. Terry is older than her and already a widower and she is still a minor. Love works in mysterious ways.

Monday, August 8, 2016

Another Kind of Review: My New Kindle Case


This time, I am not going to write a book review. I decided to share my thoughts about my new kindle cover. This is not a sponsored review. I bought this cover from Amazon.com.

I bought my kindle keyboard 3G in 2012. Then I bought a cover or a case if you prefer, to protect it. This is how it looks like after four years of keeping safe my kindle and being dragged every day to my workplace in my purse. It served well. And it was time for retirement.

Sunday, August 7, 2016

Book Discussion: Why I didn't rate your book with five stars?

Hi, guys.
It is Sunday, and it is raining here, so I hope that you're having chilling Sunday evening cuddled with a good book. Here is one topic that I want to talk about: rating the books.
When writing a review, it takes time and effort to write really honestly what we like and what we dislike and being objective as much as possible, and when I say „we“ I mean us , the book bloggers. Some authors take it really personally when we tell them that the characters aren't developed well, or it is hard for us to follow the story. But that's why we obliged ourselves to write a review, to tell our honest opinion. It is nothing personal, it is simply what we think about your book. I might love and adore the author in real life, but that doesn't mean that I think that all his/hers books are masterpieces. I always try to be as much as constructive as possible. If an author asks for an honest review, he/ she suppose not to expect only five stars. I disagree with people who never read the book but rate it with one star just because it arrives at their door later than expected. I always finish what we've started, spend time reading the book and thinking about it, so when the review is written, sometimes later than expected, the story is well consumed and overslept, and there is an inner discussion about every single character.

Saturday, August 6, 2016

My Favorite Summer Themed Crime TV Series

Hi, guys.

Sorry for not being around lately. After waiting for my new internet package for more than month and fixing the laptop after my dad accidentally spilled water on it, it's good to be back. Many reviews are waiting to be written, but today I decided to talk about something easier, like summer vacations and mystery tv shows. Every summer the local tv stations are filling the program with summer themed tv shows, most of them filmed on exotic islands. Some of them include mysteries, some include murders, but they all include out of ordinary detectives. And they are all filmed on exotic locations. I like most of these shows, they are humorous, mysterious, perfect for chilling out if you are not on the beach. So here are some of my favorites: